Article Contents Related Articles Tags
  • No tags found.
Was This Helpful? Last Updated
  • 2012/06/30

Scheduled Expiration of Content

Content can expire in one of two ways:

  1. When the user's account expires,
  2. When a scheduled expiration date on individual content is reached.

User Expiration Date

The user expiration date is a universal expiration date on a member's account. If this expires, the entire account, including all content, will no longer be accessible by the member.

Scheduled Expiration

Scheduled expiration is different from the general expiration date, in that a member's account may be a "lifetime" account, but you still want individual pieces of content to expire. Scheduled expiration allows you to set one piece of content to expire without requiring that the user's account expire.

How Expiration Dates Are Determined

Since both registration forms and shopping cart products can have their own "expiration timeframes", the program accounts for this in the following manner:

  • The account's expiration date will never be before any one piece of content's expiration date. So if a user purchases a product with a timeframe farther in the future than his/her current account expiration date, the user's account expiration date will be extended.
  • If the account's expiration date is farther in the future than a product's timeframe, a scheduled expiration will be created for content sold through this product.

Due to the above rules, many users choose to have registration forms grant a "lifetime" account while allowing the scheduled expiration system to take care of individual content expiration.